Debunking Golf Myths – Part 1

“You can take the ball back on the line of flight.” True or False?

The most widespread myth is that when taking relief from a water hazard or an unplayable lie, you may take the ball back on the line of flight.  You may not do that in any circumstance!  Neither rule says anything about “line of flight.”

One of the options under the water hazard rule is to drop behind the hazard – keeping the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped.

The unplayable ball rule has a similar option – to drop a ball behind where the ball lies unplayable, keeping that point directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped.

Jeanne Myers, GAM Assistant Director of Rules & Competitions

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>